top of page

LAMP | Angles By Alex Groot Jebbink for Odesi - Simplicity mixed with attention to detail equals Per

LAMP | angles By Odesi

No fewer than 64 rectangles - from large to small - laser cut from a thin plate of MDF, form the basis for these bulky lamp that can be hung in two ways. For the Odesi label, designer Alex Groot Jebbink took on the challenge to achieve maximum volume with a minimum of material. In LAMP | angles form and technique come together in an ultimate way.

"Even as a child I always looked for ways to create anything from a simple form. I created everything with my Lego. I stacked all the pieces together and saw something emerge before my eyes. As a product designer, I still do the same. I still get fascinated by the opportunities that lie in one such simple cube. I believe in the power of repetition and sought a way to connect the same form over and over again, to create something new. That research resulted in this lamp. A design in which the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. And a design that might look simple, but certainly is not easy to make. I like it when a design conveys an apparent simplicity. That the design 'is easy to read’, but also raises the question: ‘how is it made?’

Each design is a new adventure. An idea that arises in my mind, that I continually develop and then the journey starts. The starting point for this lamp was the material and the technique. These are inextricably linked to the final design. Not as carriers of the shape, but as an essential part of the whole. The big challenge for the LAMP | angles lay in the search for the compound and the ratio of the separate components. Eventually I arrived at half-timber joints and the classic ratio of the golden section. For the form I used the basic palette of every designer: dot, line, circle, triangle and square. If you look closely, you can see some of these in this design." The LAMP I angles is available at the website of Odesi.

Available here: http://www.odesi.eu/designer-pendant-light-angles

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page